Facade Tectonics Institute Inducts New Special Advisory Council To Drive Growth And Engagement


The Facade Tectonics Institute (FTI) is pleased to announce its new Special Advisory Council (SAC). The Council is comprised of 27 individuals selected through a competitive application process and embody the disciplinary and geographic demographics of the Institute’s membership, international mission and inclusionary practices. The Council will function as a supportive body to the FTI Board of Directors on strategic Institute issues and initiatives that seek to drive growth and engagement.

The Special Advisory Council will represent the Institute in the marketplace and academia, implement ad hoc subcommittees, advance the Institute’s mission, and help build the Institute through broad-based outreach and engagement of the AECO industry at local, regional and national levels. The Council members are thought leaders from a cross-section of the diverse sectors that comprise the AECO industry.

This announcement marks the inauguration of both the SAC members and the Council itself. Each Council member will construct a strategic 6-month contribution plan with the Institute that seeks to guide FTI leadership and achieve the Council’s 2019 priorities. Through targeted research and analysis of current and future FTI programs, the Council seeks to amplify engagement in FTI’s membership program, regional Forum series, biennial World Congress and Committee initiatives.

The new council members were officially welcomed by Stacey Hooper, Chair of the Special Advisory Council and Principal at NBBJ, and MicPatterson, Ambassador of Innovation & Collaboration at the Facade Tectonics Institute during the Council’s kickoff meeting. 2019 Special Advisory Council Members include:

  • Bob Cangemi, Renaissance Building Products
  • Nick Carillo, WWCCA
  • Joe Conover, Clark Construction Group
  • Alex Cox,PermasteelisaNorth America
  • Chris DeHaven, McCarthy Building Companies, Inc.
  • Chris Drew, AS+GG Architects
  • Stéphan Hoffman, Morrison Hershfield
  • Ron Hull, Kuraray America
  • Jon H. Kimberlain, DowSilicones
  • Mikkel Kragh, University of Southern Denmark Faculty of Engineering
  • Sameer Kumar,SHoP Architects
  • John Neary, HOK New York
  • Becher Neme, Neme Design Studio
  • Matt O’Malley, DPR Construction
  • Sophie Pennetier, Enclos
  • Lisa Rammig, Eckersley O’Callaghan
  • April Rawson, National Fenestration Rating Council
  • Brienna Rust, Simpson Gumpertz&Heger Inc.
  • Matt Staublin, HOK
  • Sanjeev Tankha,Walter P. Moore
  • Marty Trainor,Ventana
  • Hamid Vossoughi, WSP
  • Ye Wang, Join
  • Audrey Wu, Gensler
  • Stephan Wurster, Pohl Group

“This is an extraordinary group of individuals and we are extremely fortunate to have their involvement in the SAC,” commented Council Chairperson Stacey Hooper. “On behalf of FTI, we congratulate these individuals on their achievements and their appointment to the SAC. We look forward to working together in accelerating the transformation to resilient and sustainable buildings and urban habitat.”

About Facade Tectonics Institute

The Facade Tectonics Institute (FTI) is the premier member organization for building industry and professionals as well as academic, government, and nonprofit organizations and institutions focused on healthy and livable communities. The Institute’s primary objective is to fuel discussion and collaborative research that bridges fragmented market segments of the building industry, pairing government, academia, ownership, and industry professionals. Integral to this mission is the dissemination of historical, theoretical, and practical information derived from this research to the building marketplace, thereby acting as a conduit and facilitator for both learning and further collaborative research pursuits.

Recent Deals

Interested in advertising your deals? Contact Edwin Warfield.